Innovations

We can develope our bikes continiously forward thanks to the close contact to our customers and their long-term expierences.

Toothed belt drives – cleaner and more precise

bernds_zahnriemen_gates_1200
We’ve been putting toothed belt drives on bikes for over 20 years. We think they go particularly well with our folding bikes because they require no grease or oil. After all, a bike that you intend to take along with you, put in your car and hold in your hand shouldn’t make you or anything else dirty. And what’s more, a toothed belt drive train lasts up to ten times longer than one with a chain.

The new carbon-reinforced toothed belt by Gates is a worthy replacement for a chain in every respect. To go with it, we use our own special drive design based on years of experience with toothed belt drives; this design uses the virtues of the Gates carbon belt to maximum advantage. And we combine this toothed belt drive with all of the available internal gear hubs.

Folding Technology

bernds_falttechnik_1200
With a bit of practice, our folding bike can be folded up in just 8.2 seconds. The tandem folds in about 30. This is why our bikes win all the usability tests. Our main concern, however, is a long useful life. That’s why all our closures function exclusively as closures—they never have to provide any mechanical support.

And with both our handlebar folding assembly and our seat support, there’s no readjustment that needs to be done after unfolding. So far, these features have remained unique to Bernds.

Folding seat post with a memory function

bernds_faltstuetze_1200
We think that seat adjustment is absolutely essential to ergonomically correct riding. Riding with a seat that’s not adjusted right puts strain on your knees and detracts from your performance.

That’s why we developed the folding seat post that remembers your seat’s position even after folding.
The trick is a special folding hinge. This hinge is easy-to-use and exact thanks to its elaborate design and precision construction. And the upper seat post is of a standard size, so that highly varied lengths and seat offsets are possible.

And yet another advantage: our folding hinge completely seals off the seat tube. Because this prevents water from getting in at the top, the bottom bracket need not be open like it is in other bikes. This lets us minimize corrosion inside the frame.

Folding down the handlebars and adjusting them to fit your body size

bernds_lenkerfixierungs_1200
You can combine any set of handlebars with our handlebar assembly—functional and simple moon handlebars, sporty MTB models, the comfortable North Road design, high-swept trekking bars or racing handlebars. The handlebars’ height and distance from the seat are also adjustable. All handlebars, with their various settings, can be folded down perfectly and fastened in the desired place.

All this enables us to construct our handlebar folding assembly with a cable. Compared to a hinge, this type of assembly offers more possibilities and more safety. After all, hinges can open up, develop play or even break. Since this area of the bike has to withstand strong forces, we’ve chosen a tubular construction made from precision turned parts with a maximum 0.05 mm of play. Furthermore, an anti-twist mechanism guarantees that the handlebars will still work even if you’ve forgotten to close the quick release. And finally, when you unfold the handlebars to their upright position, they automatically position themselves correctly relative to the front wheel.

The Bernds headset construction

bernds_steuersatz_konstruktion_1200
Our headset construction combines the advantages of a threadless Aheadset-style design with those of a classic threaded headset.

This makes possible simple and effective play-free bracing of the headset bearings, much like in other threadless headsets. And what’s more: the Bernds headset construction allows the fork to be detached using a No. 5 hex key without having to reset the bearings. The bearings stay behind in the frame, set to be free of any play. And you can also position the wheel higher or lower. All this makes us mighty proud.

The Bernds tandem hinge

bernds_tandem_ls_gelenk_1200
To let you fold our LowStep folding tandem ultra-small, we’ve developed a special hinge.

With this hinge, we’ve more than compensated for the inherent disadvantages of a folding hinge by using an extremely solid design with an array of interlocking tabs that can withstand great mechanical forces. This construction uses surface friction to transfer these forces, and unlike other folding bike hinges, it will not develop any play.

Our tandem hinge and its placement make this tandem bike so compact that it will even fit into the boot of a VW Golf— without folding down the back seat.

Shock absorption

bernds_federelement_1200
We went looking for a way to build an entirely maintenance-free shock absorption system that would still nicely smooth out the bumps. What we came up with is made from a specially foamed polyurethane called “Cellasto”. It stands out for its high degree of inherent shock absorption, which is not temperature-sensitive.
By the way: we pioneered the use of this material in our industry in 1991. Since then, Magura, DT Swiss and German boutique producer German Answer have all followed suit.

The rear triangle

bernds_hinterbau_1200
Our rear sub-frames are open on the chain-side. In addition to looking good, this type of frame design (also used in motorcycles) makes it easy to use toothed belt drives. And it provides you with an invaluable advantage when it comes to cleaning or doing repairs: you can remove the chain in one piece, without having to open it.

Mudguard stays

bernds_schutzblechstreben_1200
Mudguard stays should provide stable support but also be flexible in order to resist impacts. When the bike is folded up without a luggage rack, the weight is on the rear mudguard. So to make sure that the rear mudguard retains its shape in the long run and also bounces back if knocked from the side, we mount these elegantly curved, extra-flexible stainless steel mudguard stays.

Light wiring

bernds_verkabelung_1200
Particularly in folding bikes, wires and cables have to take quite a bit of punishment. Our frames include special parts for strain relief. Furthermore, we’ve been using stable, 6 mm diameter twin cables with protective sheaths for years—and to our knowledge, we’re the only producer to do so. Around 90% of defective dynamo-powered running light setups don’t work because the cables are broken or shredded. But on a Bernds, the lights will work trouble-free even after 10,000 folds.

The HS-33 brake booster

bernds_bremsbooster_1200
Because of our bikes’ special frame geometry, we use a modified version of the HS-33 booster that will accommodate even 55 mm Big Apple tires.

The front brake

bernds_vorderradbremse_1200
It doesn’t squeak. It’s easier to gauge your braking force. It’s more easily adjusted. It brakes. And it’s behind the fork.

Why do rear brakes make that screeching sound far less often than front brakes?

Rear brakes are mounted behind the seat stays, so they grip the wheel from behind. When applied, the brake pads press between the stays and stabilise themselves—in contrast to traditionally mounted front brakes. With the latter, the pads turn outward from the rim when applied, which can easily produce a squeak. Long V-brake pads make this phenomenon even more pronounced.

Tail light bracket

bernds_ruecklichthalterung_1200
Our tail light bracket can be attached to the disc brakes’ mount adapter. This affords your tail light some extra protection, since it’s positioned directly on the wheel. Our previous spring-steel construction had shown a tendency to break now and again.

That construction was made to be fastened to a cantilever brake stud. And since it’s also very well suited to mountain bikes and other bikes that use V-brakes, we sold the design to Busch & Müller, the market leader in bicycle lighting. They sell it as the Crosslink.

Innovationen

Wir entwickeln unsere Produkte ständig weiter. Dabei hilft uns der persönliche Kontakt zu unseren Kunden, die oft jahrelange Erfahrung mit ihren Rädern haben. Beratung und Entwicklung gehen Hand in Hand.

Zahnriemenantrieb – sauberer und präziser

bernds_zahnriemen_gates_1200
Wir verbauen Zahnriemen seit mehr als 20 Jahren. Er passt besonders gut zu unseren Falträdern, weil er kein Fett oder Öl benötigt. Denn besonders ein Fahrrad, das man mitnimmt, ins Auto legt und in der Hand hat, sollte nicht schmieren. Zudem ist die Lebensdauer bis zu zehn Mal höher.

Die neuen Carbon-verstärkten Zahnriemen von Gates ersetzen ein Kette vollwertig. Wir nutzen hierfür einen selbst entwickelten Antrieb, der unsere langjährige Erfahrung mit Riemenantrieben einbringt und die Vorteile des Gates Carbonriemen voll ausnutzt. Unseren Zahnriemenantrieb kombinieren wir mit allen erhältlichen Nabenschaltungen.

Falttechnik

bernds_falttechnik_1200
Unser Faltrad lässt sich in geübten 8,2 Sekunden falten. Das Tandem in 30. In allen Usabilty-Tests sind wir daher als Sieger hervorgegangen. Uns liegt vor allem die Langlebigkeit am Herzen, weshalb alle Verschlüsse nur fixierende Teile sind und keine mechanisch tragende Funktion übernehmen.

Mit unserem Lenkerfaltgelenk und unserer Sattelstütze ist nach dem Falten kein erneutes Einstellen der Position nötig. Das kann bisher nur Bernds.

Faltstütze mit Memoryfunktion

bernds_faltstuetze_1200
Unserer Meinung nach ist das Einstellen eines Sattels ganz elementar für ergonomisches Radfahren, denn ein falsch eingestellter Sattel geht auf die Knie und verschlechtert die Leistungsfähigkeit.

Deshalb haben wir unsere Faltstütze entwickelt. Sie behält die Position des Sattels auch nach dem Falten bei. Der Trick ist ein besonderes Faltgelenk, das aufwändig und präzise gefertigt wird, um leichtgängig und genau zu arbeiten. Die obere Sattelstütze hat ein Standardmaß, sodass sehr unterschiedliche Längen und Sattel-Versatzmaße möglich sind.

Noch ein Plus: Unser Faltgelenk dichtet das Sitzrohr vollständig gegen eindringendes Wasser ab. Und weil von oben kein Wasser kommt, muss das Tretlager auch nicht – wie bei anderen Rädern – unten offen sein. Dadurch minimieren wir Korrosion im Inneren des Rahmens.

Lenkerfalten und Anpassung an die Körpergröße

bernds_lenkerfixierungs_1200
Unsere Lenkerfixierung passt für jeden Lenker: Funktional-schlichte Moon-Lenker, sportliche MTB Lenker, bequemer Toulouse (französischer Trainingsbügel), hochgezogene Tourenlenker oder Rennlenker. Der Abstand zum Sattel sowie die Höhe sind veränderbar. Jeder Lenker mit seinen verschiedenen Einstellungen kann perfekt eingefaltet und an der gewünschten Stelle fixiert werden.

Das alles ermöglicht die Konstruktion unseres Lenkerfalters mit einem Seil. Es hat gegenüber einem Gelenk viel mehr Möglichkeiten und ist sicherer, denn Gelenke können aufgehen, Spiel bekommen oder sogar brechen. Da es sich um eine hochbelastete Zone handelt, setzen wir auf eine Rohrkonstruktion aus hochpräzisen Drehteilen mit maximal 0,05mm Spiel. Ein Verdrehschutz garantiert die Lenkerfunktion, auch wenn man die Fixierung vergessen hat anzuziehen. Außerdem positioniert er den Lenker beim Auffalten automatisch richtig zum Vorderrad.

Die Bernds-Steuersatzkonstruktion

bernds_steuersatz_konstruktion_1200
Unsere Steuersatzkonstruktion verbindet auf geniale Art die Vorteile der Ahead-Bauweise mit denen eines klassischen Schraubsteuersatzes.

So kann das Steuersatzlager – wie beim Ahead-Steuersatz – einfach, effektiv und spielfrei geklemmt werden. Tüpfelchen: mit der Bernds-Steuersatzkonstruktion kann die Gabel mit einem 5er Inbusschlüssel ausgebaut werden ohne das Steuerlager neu einstellen zu müssen. Das Steuerlager bleibt im Rahmen spielfrei eingestellt zurück. Außerdem kann man das Rad höher- oder tieferlegen, worauf wir zugegebenermaßen stolz sind.

Das Bernds-Tandemgelenk

bernds_tandem_ls_gelenk_1200
Um das Falttandem Lowstep ultraklein falten zu können, haben wir ein besonderes Gelenk entwickelt. Die prinzipiellen Nachteile eines Faltgelenks haben wir durch eine massive und mechanisch hoch belastbare Ausführung nach dem Lamellenprinzip mehr als ausgeglichen. Denn diese Konstruktion überträgt die Kräfte über die Flächenreibung und kann im Gegensatz zu anderen Faltrad-Gelenken auch kein Spiel bekommen.

Das Tandem wird dadurch so kompakt, dass es selbst in den Kofferraum eines VW Golf hineinpasst. Ohne die Rückbank umzuklappen.

Federelement

bernds_federelement_1200
Wir haben nach einer Federung gesucht, die nie gewartet werden muss und trotzdem gut federt. Unser Federelement besteht daher aus einem speziell geschäumten Polyurethan namens „Cellasto“, das sich durch hohe Eigendämpfung und einen temperaturunabhängigen, konstanten Federkennwert auszeichnet.

Randnotiz: Das Material wird – nachdem wir es 1991 in der Branche eingeführt haben, mittlerweile auch von Magura, DT Swiss und der deutschen Edelschmiede German Answer eingesetzt.

Hinterbau

bernds_hinterbau_1200
Unser Hinterbau ist kettenseitig offen. Diese auch bei Motorrädern verwendete Bauweise sieht nicht nur gut aus, sondern ermöglicht den problemlosen Einsatz von Zahnriemenantrieben. Auch beim Reinigen oder einem Defekt hat diese Konstruktion einen unschätzbaren Vorteil: Die Kette kann man in einem Stück abnehmen ohne sie zu öffnen.

Schutzblechstreben

bernds_schutzblechstreben_1200
Sie sollen gleichzeitig für festen Halt sorgen, aber auch flexibel sein, um Stößen zu widerstehen. Beim zusammengefalteten Faltrad ohne Gepäckträger liegt das Gewicht auf dem Hinterradschutzblech. Damit es dauerhaft in Form bleibt und das Blech zurückfedert, wenn es mal seitlich verschoben wird, montieren wir die elegant gebogenen, besonders flexiblen Schutzblechstreben aus Edelstahl.

Licht-Verkabelung

bernds_verkabelung_1200
Gerade bei Falträdern sind alle Kabel und Züge besonderen Belastungen ausgesetzt. Unsere Rahmen besitzen besondere, zugentlastende Anbauteile. Darüber hinaus verlegen wir seit Jahren – unseres Wissens nach als einziger Hersteller – stabile, zweiadrige Kabel mit 6mm Durchmesser und Schutzhülle.

Etwa 90% nicht funktionierender Dynamolichtanlagen sind auf abgerissene oder zerrissene Kabel zurück zu führen. Am Bernds funktioniert das Licht auch nach 10.000 mal Falten problemlos.

HS33 Bremsbooster

bernds_bremsbooster_1200
Wir verwenden wegen der besonderen Rahmengeometrie eine modifizierte Konstruktion des HS33 Booster, der die Montage auch von 55mm Big Apple Reifen zulässt.

Vorderradbremse

bernds_vorderradbremse_1200
Quietscht nicht. Lässt sich besser dosieren und einstellen. Bremst. Denn unsere Vorderradbremse sitzt hinter der Gabel.

Warum quietschen Hinterradbremsen sonst seltener als Vorderradbremsen?

Hinterradbremsen sitzen hinter der Gabel, also nachlaufend. Die Bremsbacken drücken sich in Aktion zwischen die Gabelholme und stabilisieren sich – im Gegensatz zu traditionell montierten Vorderradbremsen. Sie verdrehen ihre Bremsbacken in Aktion nach außen von der Felge weg und neigen deshalb zum Quietschen. Die langen V-Brake-Bremsbacken verstärken dieses Phänomen sogar.

Rücklichthalterung

bernds_ruecklichthalterung_1200
Unsere Rücklichthalterung ermöglicht die Befestigung an der Scheibenbremsen-Aufnahme. Dort liegt das Licht geschützt am Rad. Zudem ist unsere bisherige Konstruktion aus Federstahl hin und wieder gebrochen.

Trotzdem ist unsere alte Lösung nicht schlecht. Sie wurde am Cantileversockel befestigt und da sie auch für Mountainbikes und andere Räder mit V-Brakes hervorragend geeignet ist, haben wir die Idee an Busch & Müller verkauft. Der Marktführer in Sachen Licht vertreibt die Halterung unter dem Namen Crosslink.

WordPress Image Lightbox