Folding Tandem

Tandem riders divide up wheel-weight and aerodynamic resistance between them, making it easy to reach high speeds without breaking a sweat. And the breath they save can be used for relaxed conversation along the way. So all in all, riding tandem does nice things for your quality of life.

We’ve transferred the basic concept of our folding bikes to our folding tandem. We’ve combined the stable, low-resistance 20-inch wheels and the shock-absorbing swingarm with an especially stable frame. And we’ve adapted its compact geometry to the special needs of tandem riders. This all makes riding our folding tandem exceptionally easy and safe. Even at high speeds, you always feel like you’ve got everything under control.

Compact and foldable

The wheelbase, shorter than in 26″ and 28″ tandems, makes taking tight curves a snap—a good thing in more than just city riding. This manoeuvrability also makes it very easy to keep your balance. So mastering our tandem doesn’t take long at all.
On trains or on local public transportation systems, they’ll fit into nearly all bike racks and compartments even in ready-to-ride form. So getting on and off public transportation is stress-free.
For transport by car, our tandem can be folded up in five-to-ten minutes. And it fits inside standard mid-sized cars with no problem. So you don’t need a tough-to-mount roof rack or rear rack. And by the way: transporting bikes on a rack costs you around 1 litre of fuel per 100 km.

Everyone can come along

Our tandems are suitable for individuals between 1.40 and 2.10 m tall, making them ideal for families.

The rear handlebars and the saddle for the front rider can be adjusted independently of one another.
And our folding tandems, just like our other bikes, can use standard-sized handlebars, stems and seat posts. Additionally, numerous luggage accessories are available by request.

Perfect for trailers

We prefer to use wide and stable tires that grip the ground exceptionally well. This makes for a sufficient reserve of friction when braking and combines efficient shock absorption with low rolling resistance. And we equip all of our folding tandems with exceptionally high-quality brakes. The recommended hydraulic disc brakes make for particularly short braking distances even in wet conditions.

Our tandem model can take a maximum total load of 260 kg. Even if you might not need that right now, it’s always nice to have this reserve in the back of your mind—after all, who knows who you might end up taking along on a tour?

The Bernds Tandem is available in total weights starting at 18kg.

The Tandem-Family

Falttandem

Tandemfahrer teilen sich Radgewicht und Luftwiderstand und erreichen so mit Leichtigkeit ein flottes Tempo, ohne zu schwitzen. Den gewonnenen Atem nutzen Sie für die entspannte Unterhaltung unterwegs. Alles in allem: Tandemfahren ist ein Stück Lebensqualität.

Wir haben unserem Falttandem das Grundkonzept unserer Falträder vererbt. Die stabilen, leicht laufenden 20“-Zoll-Räder und die gefederte Faltschwinge sind auf einen besonders soliden Rahmen gestellt. Die komplette Geometrie ist an die besonderen Bedürfnisse des Tandemfahrens angepasst. Dadurch fährt sich unser Falttandem besonders einfach und sicher. Auch bei hohem Tempo fühlt man alles im Griff zu haben.

Kompakt und faltbar

Der im Vergleich zu 26“ oder 28“-Tandems verkürzte Radstand macht enge Kurven leicht fahrbar, was nicht nur in der Stadt von Vorteil ist. Durch diese Wendigkeit ist sehr leicht das Gleichgewicht zu halten. Man braucht nicht lange, um unser Tandem zu beherrschen.
In Zügen der Bundesbahn oder im öffentlichen Nahverkehr passen sie auch im fahrbereiten Zustand in so gut wie alle Fahrradhalter und Abteile. Das Ein- und Aussteigen ist daher stressfrei.
Für den Transport im Auto lässt sich unser Tandem in fünf bis zehn Minuten zusammenfalten. Es passt ohne Probleme in den Innenraum gängiger Mittelklasseautos. Man benötigt also keinen umständlich zu montierenden Dach- oder Heckgepäckträger und vermeidet ihren Mehrverbrauch, der etwa 1l/100km beträgt.

Alle können mitfahren

Unsere Tandems sind für Personen mit einer Körpergröße von 1,40m bis 2,10m geeignet und damit das ideale Familientandem.

Der hintere Lenker und der Sattel des Vordermanns sind unabhängig voneinander einstellbar.
Auch an unsere Falttandems passen Lenker, Vorbauten und Sattelstützen mit Standardmaßen. Auf Wunsch sind eine Vielzahl an Anbauteilen zur Gepäckmitnahme erhältlich.

Perfekt für Anhänger

Wir bevorzugen breite und stabile Reifen, die extra satt auf der Straße liegen. Das sorgt für genügend Haftreserven beim Bremsen und eine effiziente Federung bei einem dennoch geringen Rollwiderstand. Wir montieren an alle Falttandems sehr hochwertige Bremsen. Die empfehlenswerten hydraulischen Scheibenbremsen erzielen auch bei Nässe besonders kurze Bremswege.

Die maximale Zuladung liegt bei 260kg. Auch wenn man es jetzt noch nicht braucht – es ist immer gut, diese Reserve im Hinterkopf zu haben. Wer weiss, was man bei langen Touren alles mitnimmt.

Unser Tandem ist ab 18kg Gesamtgewicht erhältlich.

Die Tandem-Familie


WordPress Image Lightbox