bernds_unterwegs_faltrad_picknick

This is Bernds

We’ve been designing, developing and producing folding bikes since 1991. And from frame to fork to drive train, our ideas, precision and craftsmanship are built into every single bike we make. You can see it, and you can feel it. Thomas Bernds built his first tandem out of two older bikes when he was just eight years old. And the fun and energy he got out of that project have stayed with him ever since, leading to one new development after the other. That’s what Bernds is about—and it’s what makes every Bernds bike a Bernds.

“Hey, this rides just like a big one!”

Our bikes are the result of consistently rethinking what would seem to be hard-and-fast principles of bicycle construction. And from the very beginning, we’ve been possessed by an ambitious goal: to build the most compact all-rounder. Literally.

20″ wheels: smaller, lighter, more stable
28″ wheels: an anachronism

Why, these days, do almost all bikes use 26″ and 28″ wheels? During the bicycle’s early phase of development, in the late 19th century, the first design to prevail was that of the dangerous unicycle with its gigantically dimensioned wheels—because those made it easier to deal with the uneven surfaces of that era’s badly maintained roads. It was the development of hollow tires inflated with air that finally made possible the breakthrough of smaller wheel diameters and, hence, the bicycle in its present-day form.
Today’s roads and available tires have improved immeasurably. And a few years ago, another giant step in tire development was taken when new, low-resistance, high-pressure balloon tires came onto the market. So it’s only logical for us to use 20″ wheels.
Compared with back in the mid-19th century, roads are now quite a bit better, and 20″ wheels are lighter, more stable and more compact than 26″ or 28″ wheels. All this also means that bike frames can be designed to be lighter, more stable and more compact.

We fold things wherever it’s practical to do so

The maintenance-free, shock-absorbed rear folding hinge means: the rear wheel swings around, and it rests on shock-absorbant polyurethane. So our folding technology is also used for shock absorption, and there’s no hinge in the main part of the frame. This lets us achieve more stable riding characteristics, and it also looks great.

The exception is our LowStep Tandem, with its special, extra-solid hinge design. Its interlocking tabs, which run through the entire width, make for a large, frictionally engaged surface area capable of withstanding great forces wobble-free. This design is far more stable than that of traditional hinges, where the force is borne only by a single hinge axis. And it also makes it possible to stow the LowStep in the boot of a VW Golf.

Frame Geometry: Compact dimensions with stable riding characteristics

Building a bike with small wheels isn’t difficult. The challenge is adapting the frame in such a way that it provides as safe and as assured a ride as does a large bike. We’ve taken on this challenge and made no compromises. And it shows: a Bernds bike is easy to ride hands-free. But we really shouldn’t say that. Because in most places, at least, “Look, Ma, no hands!” is prohibited by law.

Custom dimensions by request – even the frame

We design and produce our steel frames in-house. We build them using steel of the highest quality, so they’re light and durable. Doing things this way also allows us to build bikes according to people’s individual body sizes.
All of our standard bikes are suitable for riders between 1.40 and 2.10 m tall. Our Folding Bike comes standard in three frame-lengths, while Gretel and the Pickup each come in two.
After all, for biking to be healthy, the ergonomics of it have to be right. And to this end, we also help our customers to arrive at the right choice for every component and accessory.

The ability to take your bike along on trains or in your car

We believe that a bike is even more useful if it’s easy to take it along with you. Because you’ll ride more if you can ride everywhere. That’s what our customers say to us.
And whether it’s in a tight train compartment or in your car’s boot: it’s in places like these that the compact dimensions of Bernds bikes shine to their fullest, because even when unfolded, they’re that crucial bit more compact than classic 28″ bikes. And they’re all the more so when you fold them.
The Bernds Folding Bike will fit in your car’s boot even if it’s a Smart you’re driving. And a VW Golf can even take along one of our folding tandems in its boot, with no need to mount a bike rack.
In Germany, you can take your Bernds folding bike on all trains free of charge, even on the high-speed ICE. And our tandems, too—even unfolded—spare you the embarrassment of blocking others trying to get through. Since they’re about ½ meter shorter than normal tandems, they’ll fit into the standard bike racks on German InterCity and regional trains even when they’re unfolded.

bernds_unterwegs_faltrad_picknick

Jeder ist anders unterwegs

Wir entwerfen, entwickeln und fertigen Falträder seit 1991. Vom Rahmen über die Gabel bis zum Antrieb stecken unsere Ideen, Präzision und Handarbeit in jedem gefertigten Rad. Das spürt man und man sieht es. Thomas Bernds hat schon mit acht Jahren sein erstes Tandem gebaut, aus zwei alten Fahrrädern. Der Spaß und die Energie haben ihn nicht mehr losgelassen, was für ständige Entwicklung sorgt. Wir fertigen Räder, die intensiv benutzt werden. Dafür, dass Menschen unterwegs sein können. So, wie sie wollen.

„Hey, das fährt sich genau wie ein Großes“

Unsere Räder sind das Ergebnis konsequenten Überdenkens scheinbar fest zementierter Eckpunkte des Fahrradbaus. Von Beginn an lässt uns die Maxime nicht mehr los: Das kompakteste Allroundrad. Wörtlich.

20″-Räder: kleiner, stabiler, leichter
28″-Laufräder: Ein Anachronismus

Warum werden heute fast ausschließlich 28“ oder 26“-Laufräder verwendet? Sieht man sich die Entwicklung des Fahrrades gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts an, so setzt sich zunächst das gefährliche Hochrad mit riesigen Laufraddurchmessern durch, weil man damit auf den schlechten Straßen der damaligen Zeit die Unebenheiten besser überrollen konnte. Erst die Entwicklung luftgefüllter Reifen verhalf den kleineren Raddurchmessern und dem Rad in seiner heutigen Form zum Durchbruch.
Heute sind Straßen und die zur Verfügung stehenden Reifen unvergleichlich besser. Und vor einigen Jahren gab es nochmal einen Riesensprung in der Reifenentwicklung, als die neuen, leichtlaufenden Hochdruck-Ballonreifen auf den Markt kamen. Es ist daher nur logisch 20“-Räder zu verwenden.
Die Straßen sind im Vergleich zu denen Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts deutlich besser und die 20″ Laufräder sind leichter, stabiler und kompakter als 26“ oder 28“-Räder. Auch die Fahrradrahmen können so kompakter, leichter und stabiler werden.

Wir falten da, wo es praktisch ist

Die wartungsfreie, gefederte Falt-Hinterradschwinge bedeutet: Das Hinterrad lässt sich umschwingen und liegt auf federndem Polyurethan auf. Mit der Falttechnik federn wir unsere Räder also gleichzeitig und man findet bei uns kein Gelenk im Hauptrahmen. Damit erreichen wir ein stabileres Fahrverhalten und eine ungestörte Optik.

Die Ausnahme ist unser LowStep-Tandem mit seinem besonders soliden Spezialgelenk. Durch seine Lamellenform gibt es die Kräfte reibschlüssig weiter. Das ist gegenüber herkömmlichen Gelenken, bei der die Kraft nur eine Achse trägt, wesentlich stabiler. Es ermöglicht die Mitnahme des Tandem LowStep in einem VW-Golf-Kofferraum.

Rahmengeometrie: Kompakte Abmessungen bei stabilem Fahrverhalten

Ein Fahrrad mit kleinen Laufrädern zu bauen ist nicht schwer. Die Herausforderung ist es, den Rahmen so anzupassen, dass es sich so sicher fährt wie ein großes Rad. Das haben wir konsequent durchgezogen. Indiz: Ein Bernds ist freihändig fahrbar. Aber das dürfen wir eigentlich gar nicht erzählen. Freihändig Fahren ist verboten.

Auf Wunsch nach Maß – Sogar der Rahmen

Unsere-Stahlrahmen sind von uns entworfen, konstruiert und aus hochwertigem Stahl. Sie sind leicht und langlebig. Außerdem können wir so nach individuellen Körpermaßen bauen.
Standardmäßig sind alle unsere Räder für Personen zwischen 1,40m bis 2,10m geeignet. Das Faltrad gibt es serienmässig in drei Rahmenlängen – Gretel und das Pickup in zwei.
Fahrradfahren ist nur dann gesund, wenn die Ergonomie stimmt. Dazu treffen wir gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden die passendste Wahl in jedem Bauteil und beim Zubehör.

Das Fahrrad im Zug oder Auto mitnehmen können

Wir glauben daran ein Fahrrad noch benutzbarer zu machen, wenn das Mitnehmen erst einfach genug ist. Man fährt mehr, wenn man überall fahren kann. Das sagen uns unsere Kunden.
Im engen Zugabteil oder im Kofferraum: Hier spielt ein Bernds den Vorteil seiner kompakten Maße aus, denn sie sind selbst im entfalteten Zustand um den entscheidenden Tick kompakter als klassische 28“-Räder. Im gefalteten Zustand erst recht.
Im Auto passt ein Bernds in den Kofferraum, auch in einen Smart. Und selbst die Falttandems lassen sich im Kofferraum eines VW Golf mitnehmen, ohne einen Radträger montieren zu müssen.
In der Bahn nehmen Sie ihr Bernds-Faltrad in allen Zügen kostenlos mit, auch in den schnellen ICE’s. Unsere Tandems ersparen selbst ungefaltet die Verlegenheit den Verkehr aufzuhalten. Sie sind etwa einen halben Meter kürzer als normale Tandems und passen damit selbst ungefaltet in die gängigen Fahrradhalterungen der IC und Regionalbahnen.


WordPress Image Lightbox